Imperial Valley College will be holding an organizational Redistricting Advisory Committee meeting 5:30 p.m. Tuesday, August 30th in the Board Room.

Representatives from GCR, LLC, the college’s attorneys for the redistricting effort, will be making a presentation on the process and the upcoming schedule will be discussed.

The committee, which was appointed by the board, will be providing input to the district regarding redistricting options. Members are Victor Carrillo, Gerald Gauna, Julio Rodriguez, Robert Barros, Raul Navarro, Ned Foss and Vivian Perez. Alternates are Monica Ketchum, Eric Reyes, Michael Minnix, Ellen Verdugo, Glen Sampson, Carol Land, Erasmo Gonzales. Mayra Beltran has been appointed by the IVC Associated Students.

IVC Trustees have started a process that will result in major changes to the way trustees are elected as well as boundaries of areas they represent.

The board voted in July to modify trustee area boundaries and change from “at large” to “trustee area” elections.

Currently, the seven trustees must live within the boundaries of a specific area, which correspond to boundaries for the county’s high school or unified school districts: Brawley Union, Central Union, Calexico Unified, Holtville Unified, San Pasqual Unified, Imperial Unified and Calipatria Unified. All residents of the Imperial Community College District vote for all trustee candidates on the ballot.

That will change, beginning in November 2012, when residents will only vote for candidates who reside in their trustee area.